The Philosophy of the Dissemination of Truth

A place to relax and socialize - to muse, think aloud and suggest
o.catharnaigh

The Philosophy of the Dissemination of Truth

Unread post by o.catharnaigh »

This is a thread for the discussion of the best and most proper ways we can share with our loved ones and our friends the things we've learned in the age of the internet, in particular, media fakery. I'm not very good at helping people look through a different lens. But I love a lot of people, and I want them to see, or, rather, I want them to review what they think they saw, but I fail to do so. My hope is it's because I'm relatively new to the game, and other people who have more experience can share with those of us who have less experience, and maybe we can all learn together.

If I don't hear from anybody in awhile, I'll share the ways in which I completely failed, and maybe we can go from there.
Apache

Re: The Philosophy of the Dissemination of Truth

Unread post by Apache »

o.catharnaigh wrote:I want them to see, or, rather, I want them to review what they think they saw, but I fail to do so.
Is it your failure or is it theirs? As Philip K Dick said, reality is that which doesn't go away when you stop believing in it and if your loved ones won't believe in reality and prefer to believe in fakery, then ultimately there's not much you can do about that. If someone is not open-minded, you will get nowhere. Personally I don't impart facts of fakery to others in an adequate way when I am talking about it. I write it down in a much better way than when I speak. Some people speak much better than they write. We all need to find the best way to impart what we know and to accept that, for some people, verbal communication might not be the right method.